
We recently finished our Screwball unit, watching Bringing Up Baby. Although I try to keep an open mind about films/ film genres, I found it hard to believe that any screwball would be worth watching after viewing Bringing Up Baby. I found the film almost unwatchable, keeping me tense and unsettled through the entire film. From the overall Annoying character of Susan (Hepburn) to the far from plausible plot, this movie just plain stunk. Maybe these films were made for a different generation at a different time, but I can't see how anyone our age could think these films are funny or entertaining at all.
The main complaint I have with the film is the character of Susan. I'm sure the director (Hawks) could have found some other way to further the film without having such an annoying character. Susan is over the top with her crazed voice and insane plots...I mean just taking a car out of a golf course parking lot because you need a car...really? Her actions are usually unbelievable to the audience, but should appear unbelievable to the other characters as well. Part of the problem with the believability of the plot is that David Huxley (Grant) simply falls into all of Susan's traps/ploys.
There is, in fact, only one main scene that I find humorous in the entire movie. This scene is the one with David answering the door with Susan's robe on.
Overall, Bringing Up Baby is one example of a film that I would never want to see again, no matter its "merit" according to old film critics. I am glad that we didn't watch another screwball comdey, because I don't know it I could have stood to stay and watch if we did.
3 comments:
Yes, I could not stand the character of susan. She is so annoying, and she wouldn't let anyone else talk. I just wanted someone shut her up so David could get a word in once in a while, it also made everyone else in the movie seem ignorant and stupid, to falls for her word tricks. I can't understand how she can steal two cars, and no one cares at all? she just drives away and it doesn't phase her at all. Don't they have police with a little bit of common sense? Ahhhhhh!
Hmm. Sounds to me like you really didn't like the screwball comedy genre. Well, I didn't get to watch the movie you guys watched, but I have to agree with your opinion of screwball comedies. I didn't like them very much either. The movie I watched was a little funny now and then, but I definitely wouldn't watch it on my own outside of class.
You have to take into consideration that screwball comedys came into play during the great deppression and people wanted to feel good about themselves. Thats why the movie was so over-the-top and crazy. And what guy during that time wouldnt want some beatiful,wealthy girl to fall in love with them.
Post a Comment